View photos from ACSW 2018

Please note photos are under a CC Attribution license. If used, the photos should be attributed as follows:

  • Photo: Dr Nick Hamilton, QCIF/RCC/IMB.
  • Twitter Photo: @DoktrNick

View the Program

ACSW 2018

We invite you to join us for the 2018 Australasian Computer Science Week (ASCW) being held in Brisbane 30 January – 2 February 2018.

ACSW is the premier event for Computer Science researchers across Australasia, organised under the governing auspices of Computing Research and Education (CORE) Association of Australasia.

ACSW consists of several conferences covering a wide range Computer Science topics. The annual conference is attended by many national and international delegates comprising HDR students, distinguished academics and Industry representatives from across Australasia in computer science.

More information regarding invited speakers and programmed events will be released via our new look ASCW website as planning proceeds. We encourage you to check the website regularly for updates.

We look forward to seeing you in Brisbane.

Prof. David Abramson, UQ
2018 ACSW Chair

Invited Speakers

We are pleased to announce the following invited speakers will be presenting at ACSW 2018

  • Professor Ann Nicholson, Faculty of Information Technology, Monash University
  • Dr Junhao Gan, School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering, University of Queensland
  • Associate Professor Lexing Xie, School of Computer Science, Australian National University
  • Dr Antonette Mendoza, School of Computing and Information Systems, University of Melbourne

Further information regarding ACSW 2018 speakers will be announced shortly.

ACSW 2018 ECR/HDR track

In 2018 ACSW will add an exciting stream focussed on  training opportunities for Early Career Researchers and Higher Degree students in addition to the traditional sub-conferences. The following activities are being planned:

  • A panel on how to apply for an ARC DECRA, led by former members of the ARC College of Experts and successful DECRA fellows
  • A panel on how to build an run industry collaborations, with successful members of the CS community.
  • A panel/workshop on how to apply for a promotion, with former and current heads of school and people who have been successful
  • An academic integrity workshop, led by UQ’s integrity team.
  • A grant writing workshop, led by ARC external reviewers and successful awardees
  • A panel on how to prepare for ACS and EA accreditation, led by teams who have been successful.
  • A set of lightning talks and posters, given by both senior and early career academics.

We particularly encourage ECRs and HDRs to register and attend. 

UQ, QUT and Griffith have pre-sponsored a number of registrations, and potential delegates should contact the following people to find out how to register:

Important Dates

Monday 13 November

Author Notifications distributed

Wednesday 22 November

CORE Student Travel Award applications close

Friday 1 December

Camera-ready full papers due

Friday 15 December

 EXTENDED – Early-bird registration closes

Tuesday 30 January

ACSW 2018 Welcome Reception

Wednesday 31 January - Friday 2 February

ACSW 2018 Conference Sessions

Steering Committee

Professor David Abramson – Chair, 2018 ACSW
The University of Queensland 

Dr Marie Boden – School engagement
The University of Queensland 

Professor Michael Bruenig
The University of Queensland

Dr Minh Dinh – Publications
The University of Queensland 

Mark Endrei – Graduate students
The University of Queensland 

Dr Hoang Nguyen – ECR engagement
The University of Queensland


Professor Paul Roe
Queensland University of Technology

Professor Abdul Sattar
Griffith University

Professor Paul Strooper
The University of Queensland

Associate Professor Stephen Viller – Undergraduate engagement
The University of Queensland 

Professor Stephen Wilson – Undergraduate engagement
The University of Queensland 

Dr Jack Yang – Publicity
The University of Wollongong